Introducing the new Sprint features
Oct 31, 2017
We’ve done a complete rewrite of our Sprint Burndown chart based on the feedback we’ve received from you - our users. In addition to the sleek new design, there's a whole bunch of new functionality baked in. So many, in fact, that we decided to rename the screen to Sprint. After all, it's no longer just a burndown chart but a whole set of features that can help you run your sprints successfully. Read on to learn how to find and use these new tools.
First of all, we've done some adjustments to the design of the burndown chart. We made the burndown part bigger, and the bottom part containing supporting information smaller. Another change you'll notice in the new UI is the quick menu on the top right corner, which allows you you switch between the views. That allowed us to keep the burndown chart simple while providing more detailed information behind that menu.
Browse and delete old sprints
As soon as you have sprints completed, they'll appear in the menu. You can choose to see the burndown of the currently running sprint, or any of the previous sprints.
You can also delete any of the old sprints by clicking the settings icon and selecting Remove sprint in the chart settings.
See the tasks per individual
While the burndown chart gives you a nice overview on how your sprint is progressing, you'll likely want to dig deeper than that. What is the status per each individual? We've got you sorted. Now you can switch to Task Status view from the dropdown menu to see the status per individual.
This view shows the number of tasks per individual assigned to the sprint. In the rightmost column, you'll see the number of tasks in Not started / In progress / Done state and clicking the numbers reveal the individual tasks. Great for daily stand-ups!
See the amount of work planned vs done
One benefit of seeing your team's historical velocity is that you can use that for estimating how much work you can accomplish per sprint. Over time, you're team should get better in estimating so that you don't take more work than you can complete within a sprint. Selecting Planned vs done from the menu shows how close your planned work is to completed work per sprint.
See what was added or removed during the sprint (coming soon)
If tasks are added or removed during the sprint, those are shown as small circles in the timeline. You can hover your mouse over the circle to see which task was added or removed.
Option to exclude weekends
Now you can choose whether weekends are counted as working time. If you select Exclude weekends in the sprint burndown settings, the expected burndown is flat during the weekends.
Aggregate data from multiple boards
If you're Trello user, you can now have your backlog scattered into multiple lists, or even multiple boards. This is useful e.g. in a case that you have a one board for backlog and another for sprint tracking.
Track multiple simultaneous sprints
If you're Jira user, you can now track all the sprints you have running in parallel. They will all appear in the quick menu below the Sprint divider so you can quickly switch between them.
These features are currently in beta, and they are now available for all Trello, Jira, and Pivotal Tracker users. In order to start using the new sprint features, you'll first have to enable Sprint in the dashboard settings.
We hope you enjoy this release as much as we do! Please do not hesitate to contact us any time at firstname.lastname@example.org if you have questions or feedback.