Map your workflow using the mapping tool
To build your dashboard, we need to understand a bit of your workflow. In order to show metrics that reflect your specific way of working, we need to know when the work is started on a task, and when it's completed.
Note: before you can map your workflow, make sure you have set up your workflow.
Use the mapping tool to map your Trello workflow to Not started, In progress, and Done. You can find the mapping tool at Dashboard settings ► Workflow in the main menu.
In the beginning, the unmapped box contains all the lists in your Trello board. Drag the columns that form your workflow from unmapped to one of the three boxes:
Not started = Work to be done (your backlog)
In progress = Work started but not completed
Done = Completed work
Tip: Consider your work done only after tasks go through all states so map your testing/review/waiting states to In progress rather than Done.
It's ok to leave some of the columns unmapped if you feel they are not part of your workflow.
That's it! Notice that the workflow mapping is global for your dashboard so when you change the mapping, it will be reflected in all charts.
Keeping your mapping up-to-date
If you change the lists in your Trello board afterwards, you will see a red icon notifying you to review your mapping.
When you click Dashboard settings, you will be directed to the mapping tool to review your mapping. The Trello lists that have been added since the mapping was done are associated with an exclamation mark. Move them to one of the three boxes or leave them unmapped. Clicking save will remove the notification.
Whenever you update the mapping, the data on your dashboard is refreshed immediately to reflect your new mapping. However, your history won’t be rewritten, it will always stay “as it was”.