Screenful FAQ

Why do I need to create a separate Screenful account for the Jira Cloud add-on?

Screenful stores data outside Jira so a mechanism for authentication and authorisation is needed. Screenful can always be used in stand-alone mode, just browse to screenful.com/login and log in with your Screenful credentials.

Related questions

How does the Marketplace add-on differ from your SaaS service?

When installing the Marketplace add-on:

  • You get Screenful embedded within your JIRA UI (but you can also use it as a web app)

  • Any user in your Jira instance can join the Screenful account without an invitation

  • You will be billed by Atlassian instead of Screenful

  • The pricing is according to the number of users in your Jira instance

  • There is no single-sign-on option

When deploying as a SaaS service via the Screenful website:

  • You use Screenful as a standalone web app, not embedded within the Jira UI

  • Each user must be invited to log in to Screenful (you can choose who gets access)

  • You will be billed by Screenful instead of Atlassian. Prices are according to the pricing page.

  • Single-sign-on is available as an option in the Enterprise plans

You can learn more about the deployment options from this article.

When installing the Marketplace add-on:

  • You get Screenful embedded within your JIRA UI (but you can also use it as a web app)

  • Any user in your Jira instance can join the Screenful account without an invitation

  • You will be billed by Atlassian instead of Screenful

  • The pricing is according to the number of users in your Jira instance

  • There is no single-sign-on option

When deploying as a SaaS service via the Screenful website:

  • You use Screenful as a standalone web app, not embedded within the Jira UI

  • Each user must be invited to log in to Screenful (you can choose who gets access)

  • You will be billed by Screenful instead of Atlassian. Prices are according to the pricing page.

  • Single-sign-on is available as an option in the Enterprise plans

You can learn more about the deployment options from this article.

How to invite other users via the Jira Cloud add-on?

If you have installed Screenful via the Atlassian Marketplace, others will also see the Screenful link in the Jira UI, and when they click it, they are shown the signup form. So you don't have to send invitation emails in order to invite colleagues, although you can do that as well. When they fill out the form, they will be added to your Screenful account. You can adjust their role and permissions at Account-->Manage Users.

If you have installed Screenful via the Atlassian Marketplace, others will also see the Screenful link in the Jira UI, and when they click it, they are shown the signup form. So you don't have to send invitation emails in order to invite colleagues, although you can do that as well. When they fill out the form, they will be added to your Screenful account. You can adjust their role and permissions at Account-->Manage Users.

How are the lead and cycle times calculated in Jira?

The timings are based on your workflow settings. You can learn more from the Lead Time FAQ.

The timings are based on your workflow settings. You can learn more from the Lead Time FAQ.

Can I create charts based on due dates in Jira

Yes, you can filter charts based on due dates or by status such as overdue. You can also track the amount of work planned for the future using the Workload (planned) chart. Learn more about setting up the workload (planned) chart for Jira.

Yes, you can filter charts based on due dates or by status such as overdue. You can also track the amount of work planned for the future using the Workload (planned) chart. Learn more about setting up the workload (planned) chart for Jira.

Can I import my Jira Service Desk project?

Yes as long as there’s a Jira Software instance available in addition to the SD. Here’s a step by step guide for importing Jira Service Desk projects.

Yes as long as there’s a Jira Software instance available in addition to the SD. Here’s a step by step guide for importing Jira Service Desk projects.

Can I import Jira Work Management projects?

The boards that are created by default for Business projects (a.k.a. Jira Work Management projects) are technically not "boards" in the same sense as the Jira Software project kanban boards. For example they're not available via the Jira API, so we can't integrate directly with them. The good news is that the same work around that exists for Jira Service Management projects also works in this case.

https://screenful.com/jira/create-dashboards-for-jira-service-desk

The boards that are created by default for Business projects (a.k.a. Jira Work Management projects) are technically not "boards" in the same sense as the Jira Software project kanban boards. For example they're not available via the Jira API, so we can't integrate directly with them. The good news is that the same work around that exists for Jira Service Management projects also works in this case.

https://screenful.com/jira/create-dashboards-for-jira-service-desk

What are the main differences between the Jira Cloud add-on and the stand-alone app?

When installing the Marketplace add-on:

  • You get Screenful embedded within your JIRA UI (but you can also use it as a web app)

  • Any user in your Jira instance can join the Screenful account without an invitation

  • You will be billed by Atlassian instead of Screenful

  • The pricing is according to the number of users in your Jira instance

  • There is no single-sign-on option

When deploying as a SaaS service via the Screenful website:

  • You use Screenful as a standalone web app, not embedded within the Jira UI

  • Each user must be invited to log in to Screenful (i.e. you can choose who gets access)

  • You will be billed by Screenful instead of Atlassian. Prices are according to the pricing page

  • Single-sign-on is available as an option in the Enterprise plans


When installing the Marketplace add-on:

  • You get Screenful embedded within your JIRA UI (but you can also use it as a web app)

  • Any user in your Jira instance can join the Screenful account without an invitation

  • You will be billed by Atlassian instead of Screenful

  • The pricing is according to the number of users in your Jira instance

  • There is no single-sign-on option

When deploying as a SaaS service via the Screenful website:

  • You use Screenful as a standalone web app, not embedded within the Jira UI

  • Each user must be invited to log in to Screenful (i.e. you can choose who gets access)

  • You will be billed by Screenful instead of Atlassian. Prices are according to the pricing page

  • Single-sign-on is available as an option in the Enterprise plans


How do I invite my colleagues from Jira?

You can invite colleagues by sending them an invitation.

If you have installed Screenful via the Atlassian Marketplace, your colleagues can join by simply clicking on the Screenful app link within the Jira UI (see the “Apps” menu on the top navigation). They will be prompted to signup after which they will join the account created by you. Initially they have “Member” status and can access all the Screenful features. You can change their status in the Account settings.

You can invite colleagues by sending them an invitation.

If you have installed Screenful via the Atlassian Marketplace, your colleagues can join by simply clicking on the Screenful app link within the Jira UI (see the “Apps” menu on the top navigation). They will be prompted to signup after which they will join the account created by you. Initially they have “Member” status and can access all the Screenful features. You can change their status in the Account settings.

What is the lifecycle of an Jira Cloud add-on?

The add-on is installed from the Atlassian Marketplace. Like all paid add-ons there is a free 30-day trial. If you continue using the add-on after the trial ends it will become a regular add-on and Atlassian will add the fees to your invoice.

If you uninstall the add-on during or after the trial, your Screenful account will be immediately deleted together all of the data. If you disable the add-on, your Screenful account will be immediately suspended, and it will be deleted if you don’t enable it within 30 days.

The add-on is installed from the Atlassian Marketplace. Like all paid add-ons there is a free 30-day trial. If you continue using the add-on after the trial ends it will become a regular add-on and Atlassian will add the fees to your invoice.

If you uninstall the add-on during or after the trial, your Screenful account will be immediately deleted together all of the data. If you disable the add-on, your Screenful account will be immediately suspended, and it will be deleted if you don’t enable it within 30 days.